Latest News – Ballingarry go for title

Following last weekends results Ballingarry go into their last game of the season against NCW Rovers knowing that to avoid defeat will see them crowned Division 1 champions for the second time in their history.

Rory Alymer and Denis Kelly scored the goals against Rathkeale B that put them in this position, however Rovers 4-1 trouncing of Athea United also leaves the door open for them as a win will see then win the league. It promises to be a fine finale to a very successful season for Ballingarry having already secured the League Cup and promotion, the title on Sunday would be the icing on the cake.

To boost their confidence even further Denis Kelly has been voted Division 1 Player of the Year. In what proved to be a landslide victory for the player it sees a Ballingarry player getting a junior league award for the first time. He received his award from Bernie Danagher at a function in the Shannon House Foynes on Thursday last May 22.

The 16s lost out on a cup final when they went out to Broadford at the semi final stage last Sunday (May 18th 2008). They were two nil down when awarded a penalty but sadly Steven O’ Briens poorly hit effort was saved. Kevin Moynihans late strike proved no more than a consolation.

The club will hold its AGM on Thursday June 5th at 8.30 in the clubhouse.