Under 10s Complete Double

The curtain came down on Ballingarrys season on Saturday last (June 13th 2009) in another blaze of glory as the under 10s lifted the cup for the first time in the clubs history. In a re run of the division 1 shield final this encounter against NCW was as tight as the first with just one goal again separating the sides at the end.

Ballingarry survived two early frights before taking the lead from Mark O’Kelly with 8 minutes gone in the game. Their lead was cancelled just before the break when Killian Brouder sent an unstoppable free to the top left corner following Hickeys foul.
The second half was as competitive as the first with both sides going close. Robbie Lynch in goal for Ballingarry made some crucial stops before finally Ballingarry got what proved to be the winner. The outstanding Edward Houlihan was fouled fifteen yards from goal and up stepped Mikey Hickey to break NCW hearts again just as he did in the shield final driving the ball all the way. With just two minutes remaining there was no time for NCW to find a way back leaving the under 10 cup travelling to Ballingarry for the first time and ending a truly memorable season which sees six trophies visit Ballingarry.
Congratulations to Benji Kelly and his squad on becoming the first team in the clubs history to win an underage double.