Trophies continue to gather in Ballingarry

Saturday 28th May 2011

U-13 Cup Final (Clounreask) – Ballingarry 2 (Lyons O.G, Hickey) Abbeyfeale United 0

Sunday 29th May 2011

Junior Division 1 League Cup Final (Clounreask) – Ballingarry 3 (R. Alymer, B. Fitzgerald 2) Athea United 2 AET.

Ballingarry collected their seventh and eight trophies of an enormously successful season when first they won the 13s cup and the following day the Junior A team collected the Division 1 league cup.

The 13s gave a fine footballing performance to deny favourites Abbeyfeale. They went 1 up after twenty minutes when O’Keeffes cross from the right was headed into his own net by Daniel Lyons. Aaron Smith should have made it two from Clancys cross before the break.

The second half saw both teams press for goals with Robbie Lynch in the Ballingarry goal making a fine save while man of the match Mikey Morrissey was outstanding at centre half. Ballingarry clinched the 13s cup for the second time in their history when captain Mikey Hickey sent a free all the way to the net after Clancy was fouled two minutes from time.

The juniors secured their second league and cup double when they overcame Athea United in the Division 1 league cup final on Sunday. This was a real ding dong battle as Ballingarry went 1 up from Rory Alymer only for Athea to draw level just into the second half. Brian Fitzgerald restored Ballingarrys lead only to see another equaliser in the last minute of added time. However Ballingarry were not to be denied with Fitzgerald again the hero with his second and match winning goal sealing victory in the first period of extra time. In his acceptance speech Pat Kenrick dedicated the win to the memory of Rita Barrett.