Results Week Ending March 5th 2017 – Ladies Lift Desmond Cup for Sixth Time

Ladies Desmond Cup Final – Ballingarry 2 (Gohery, Moynihan) Rathkeale 0

Ballingarrys ladies retained the Desmond cup to claim the trophy for a sixth time with a goal in either half from Claire Gohery and Yvette Moynihan. Adare was the venue for the Desmond League Ladies Cup Final between Rathkeale and Ballingarry. Thank the Gods for the 4G pitch because the elements certainly weren’t conducive to good football and this was apparent in the opening minutes. Most of the first 10 mins was played in the middle third with the industrious Cathy Mee showing up well with some tough tackling and great distribution.

The game sparked into life in the 18th minute, cultured right back Rachel Anderson went on a marauding run down the right wing and fizzed across an inviting ball that was cleared off Fiona Hickeys toe. It wasn’t cleared too far as it fell to Cathy who made a super run attacking the left back again, ghosted in along the end line to slide a pass into Claire Gohery who finished from less than a yard out. Super passage of play that deserved a goal.

The heavens opened with rain and hail and that put a dampener on proceedings again. The Ballingarry back 4 anchored by Sarah Crotty and Theresa Mulcaire with Rachael Anderson and the classy Lorna O’Connell were equal to the elements and the testing conditions. As the half closed out Rathkeale came more into it. Dangerous at corners and from free kicks they finished the half strongly, but it was Ballingarry that went in 1-0 up at the half.

The second half started much like the first ended with Rathkeale proving to be dangerous and competent in midfield. The early parts of the half favoured Rathkeale but as the half wore on Ballingarry came back into it. Mary Shire was everywhere and helped stifle most attacks. Joanne O’Gorman was a willing outlet up front and proved with her runs into the channels to prove an outlet for midfield and defence. On 53 mins Ballingarry introduced Kristy Carroll and Yvette Moynihan and it was these two that combined to double Ballingarrys lead 10 mins from time. A swift break saw Moynihan pick up the ball just outside the Ballingarry box and after a lovely deft one two with Carroll the space opened up and Moynihan carried it into the opposing area and flicked it over the on rushing goalkeeper which sparked scenes of wild delight on the Ballingarry sideline.

In the closing minutes Rathkeale came close as they hit the bar from a free kick and even had the ball in the net but for it to be ruled offside. A goal conceded would have been harsh payment for goalkeeper Noirin Lenihan who was brave and solid throughout with one magnificent save on 50 mins a real highlight.

Captain Emer Hickey lifted the cup to the delight of the Ballingarry management Aidan Lynch and Gary Shanahan.

Team : Lenihan, Crotty, Mulcaire, O’Connell, Anderson, Hickey, Mee, Shire, Hickey, Gohery, O’Gorman.
Subs Carroll, Moynihan, O’Keeffe, Lee, Harnett, Tangney, Shanahan, Murphy

Ballingarry ladies have won the Desmond Cup 6 times :

’05-06 captain Rachael Hickey
’09-10 captain Mary Shire
’12-13 captain Theresa Mulcaire
’13-14 captain Theresa Mulcaire
’15-16 captain Emer Hickey
’16-17 captain Emer Hickey

All other games involving the clubs underage and adult teams were called off due to the inclement weather.