League Cup Glory

League Cup glory days
The Limerick Desmond Football League has, since Ballingarry AFC was affiliated to the league in 1984, always provided a competition dedicated to each division. This competition is called The League Cup and it is open only to teams competing in that particular division. E.g. in season 2010/11 Ballingarry A could only compete in the Division 1 league cup as that was the league division they competed in that season.

The format of the competition has changed several times in that period of time and what Ballingarry found when they joined the league in 1984 was a competition that was played over two legs at the first round stage with the aggregate scores deciding who progressed to the next round where the competition developed into a straight knockout format. This system continued until the end of season 1988-89 when it changed into a straight knockout competition until season 1999-00 when it changed into a group system where each division was divided into two groups, teams played each other once with the top team in each group meeting in the final which was finished on the day.

The tournament was further changed at the beginning of season 2004/05 when it was made a straight knockout competition with all games including the final finishing on the day. From season 2019/20 the Premier Division league cup was moved to Mick Hanley Park (Clounreask) where all rounds of the competition would be played mid week therefore allowing each club with a team in the Premier division the opportunity to play at league headquarters at least once a season. 

Ballingarry AFC and The League Cup

Winners: 2007/08 (Division 1), 2010/11 (Division 1), 2023/24 (Division 1)
Finalists: 1993/94 (Old Division 1 Now Premier), 2001/02 (Division 1), 2000/01 (Division 1), 2015/16 (Premier Division)
Semi-finalists: 1984/85 (Division 2)

  1. Ballingarrys first ever game in the League cup was in February 1985 in the Division 2 competition against Abbey United (a) 1st Round 1st Leg, 2-1 win. Joe Burke and Aidan Lynch got Ballingarrys goals.
  2. Ballingarrys first league cup scorer was Joe Burke (Pic 1 above) during their first league cup fixture.
  3. First team to represent Ballingarry in the League cup was: Noel Hayes, Davy Fitzgerald, Liam Fitzgerald, John Murphy, Noel Forde, John Clancy, James Clancy, Joe Burke, Aidan Lynch (Billy Hayes), Pat Cagney (Mike Carmody), James Cronin.
  4. When Ballingarry won a league cup for the first time in 2007/08 Aidan Barrett (Pic 2 above) was captain, the club would complete the Division 1 league and cup double that season. (Pic 3 above)
Division 1 League Cup final 2008


Scorers: D. Kelly, D. Normoyle, F. Kiely, N. Condron

How the League Cup was won 2007/08

Breska Rvs (a) Quarter Final
W 3-1
F. Kiely, D. Kelly, E. Barrett
  Team: J O’Grady; D O’Grady; E Barrett; C Kiely; M Corrigan; J Scanlon; D Normoyle; N Condron; F Kiely (K Trainor); R Alymer; (D Alymer) D Kelly.
NCW Rvs (h) Semi Final
D 2-2 aet
E. Barrett, J. Scanlon pen
Ballingarry win 4-3 on penalties (scorers – Scanlon; E Barrett; F Kiely; M Corrigan)
  Team: J O’Grady; D O’Grady; C Kiely; A Barrett; M Corrigan; J Scanlon; D Normoyle; N Condron; F Kiely; R Alymer (E Barrett); D Kelly.
Rathkeale B (n) Final
W 4-0
D. Kelly, D. Normoyle, N. Condron, F. Kiely
  Team: J O’Grady; D O’Grady; M Corrigan; A Barrett; C Kiely; N Condron; D Normoyle; J Scanlon; D Kelly; F Kiely; R Alymer.Used Subs: P Lane; E Barrett; K Condron.

Ballingarry were easy winners under lights at Clounreask against the team that had the previous week put them out of the Desmond cup. Denis Kelly opened the scoring after just five minutes and Ballingarry never looked back. Normoyles fine header gave Ballingarry a 2-0 half time cushion. Two more in the second half from Niall Condron and a superb free from Francis Kiely completed the rout. It could have been a lot more as Ballingarry won their first ever divisional league cup.

Photo Gallery

Division 1 League cup final 2011


Scorers: B Fitzgerald 2; R Alymer.

Ballingarry AFC - Division 1 League cup winners 2010/11

How the League Cup was won 2010/11

St. Itas (h) – Round 1
W 4-0
Fitzgerald, Kelly, Moore, F. Kiely
  Team: P Kenrick; K Condron; N Cahill; B Fitzgerald; C Kiely; M Corrigan; D O’Grady; F Kiely; R Alymer; D Kelly; M Moore Used Subs: D Clancy; C Doherty; D Alymer.
15-5-11 Old Mill (a) – 1/4 Final W 3-0 R. Alymer, Kelly, Minogue
  Team: P Kenrick; C Doherty; B Fitzgerald; D O’Grady; D Alymer; S Doherty; M Corrigan; D Kelly;F Kiely; R Alymer; F Minogue Used Sub: K Condron.
22-5-11 Kilcolman Rovers (a) – Semi Final W 5-0 Moore 3, N.Cahill, K. Condron
  Team: P Kenrick; K Condron; N Cahill; C Kiely; B Fitzgerald (C Doherty); S Doherty; M Moore; M Corrigan; D O’Grady; R Alymer; D Kelly.
29-5-11 Athea United – Final W 3-2 aet R. Alymer, Fitzgerald 2
  Team:P Kenrick; N Cahill; C Kiely; B Fitzgerald; K Condron; D Kelly; S Doherty; D O’Grady; C Doherty; R Alymer; K Forde. Used Subs: D Alymer; D Clancy; K Trainor.

Rory AlymerBrian FitzgeraldBallingarry win their second Division 1 League cup but had to work all the way. Rory Alymer put Ballingarry ahead only to see Athea equalise early in the second half. Brian Fitzgerald restored Ballingarrys lead until the last minute when an Athea goal sent the game to extra time. Brian Fitzgerald won it for Ballingarry with his second of the game.

Division 1 League cup final 2011

Scorers: David Geary, Aaron Smith

How the League Cup was won 2023/24


St. Itas (h) – Round 1
W 5-1
T Fitzgerald, M Danaher 2, A Smith, OG.
  Team: K O’Kelly, M Ruddle, K Storin, C Leahy, N Kirrane, D Clancy, M Danaher, T Fitzgerald, A Hickey, A Smith, E Lynch, C McMahon, J Mullane, G Browne
17-9-23 Glin Rovers B (a) – Round 1 W 2-1 M Danaher, A Smith
  Team: K O’Kelly, A Long, M Ruddle, K Storin, K Condron, N Kirrane, D Clancy, M Danaher, T Fitzgerald, A Hickey, A Smith, E Lynch
22-10-23 Dromore (a) – Round 1 D 3-3 D Clancy, A Smith 2
  Team: K O’Kelly, A Long, P Pondang, D Geary, M Ruddle, N Kirrane, D Clancy, A Hickey, A Smith, E Lynch, C Bresnihan, J Mullane, C McMahon
1-11-23 Shannonside – Semi Final (Clounreask) W 4-0 aet A Smith, M Molloy, E Lynch, D Geary
  Team: K O’Kelly, A Long, C Leahy, D Geary, K Storin, M Molloy, D Clancy, M Danaher, A Smith, E Lynch, C McMahon, J Mullane
27-1-24 Askeaton/Kilcornan – Final (Clounreask) W 2-0 A Smith,  D Geary
  Team: K O’Kelly, A Long, B Sheehy, D Geary, M Danaher, N Kirrane, D Clancy, A Smith, E Lynch,  J Mullane, C McMahon, J Quill, A Hickey, K Storin, M Molloy, M Ruddle

David GearyAaron SmithBallingarry lift the Division 1 league cup for the third time, 13 years since they last lifted that trophy. All of the intervening years being spent in the premier division. Two first half goals from David Geary and Aaron Smith were enough to secure the win. The only serving member from the 2010/11 team to play in the this success was team captain Dean Clancy

Photo Gallery