Latest Results Week Ending April 23rd 2017

Friday April 14th

Desmond Cup Round 4 – Abbeyfeale United 3 Ballingarry 0
The better team won to leave Ballingarry with a relegation battle on their hands.

Saturday April 15th

U12 Girls Division 1 – Abbeyfeale Utd 0 Ballingarry 3 (Clancy, 0’Connor, Kenny)
Another fine performance from the girls see them in with a glorious chance of making the shield final.

Monday April 17th

U16 Girls Cup Final – More disappointment for Ballingarry.
AK United 3 Ballingarry 0

The teams were level at the break with the best Ballingarry chance falling to Mulcaire-Shire. The game was lost in the opening ten minutes of the second half when AK got two well taken goals. Ballingarry never recovered with a third AK goal following in the closing minutes. Ballingarry now finish runners up in both the cup and the league which of course is success in itself but also a disappointing finish to what was a promising season.

Thursday April 20th

Girls U14 Cup Semi Final – Ballingarry 0 Abbeyfeale United 2

Saturday April 22nd

U10 Girls – Kildimo Utd 2 Ballingarry 5
Premier Division – Carrig Celtic 1 Ballingarry 2 (Fitzgerald, Kelly)

The return of Denis Kelly from retirement may yet prove a master stroke if Ballingarry are to avoid relegation. Almost instant dividends have been returned as he scored the winner in Ballingarrys crucial 2-1 win at Carrig Celtic last Sunday. Brian Fitzgerald gave Ballingarry the lead which Carrig cancelled out before the break. But they up popped Kelly to secure the points.
Team: Kenrick; Ahern, N Cahill, Fitzgerald, O’Grady, Clancy, Moore, Smith, E Cahill, Forde, Kelly.
Sub used: A O’Connor.

Ballingarry AFC saw four players pick up awards at the Ladies League awards night in Rathkeale on Friday April 21st last. Rachel Anderson of AFC received the Youth Premier lge player of the year. Desmond Cup player of the match Noirin Lenihan received her award, and Premier League top scorer Joanne O’Gorman received her trophy. Fiona Hickey won the Player of the League Cup Final award. Congratulations to all four.